Advisory Committee

Composed of faculty representatives from each of the ten UC campuses, the UCHRI Advisory Committee members are nominated by the humanities dean of their home campus, and selected by the UC Board of Governors with an eye to reflecting the diversity and disciplinary breadth of the faculty of the University of California. The advisory committee meets twice each year to make selections for UCHRI’s core funding programs, including the residential research groups, working groups, conferences and seminars, collaborative compositions, and extramural explorations. The advisory committee also works to communicate the mission, policies, thematic priorities, and procedures of the UCHRI to their home campuses, and to inform the UCHRI about the research interests, ideas, plans, and specific proposals of the home campus faculty, to assist in identifying faculty – especially women, minorities, and junior faculty – for participation in all Institute activities, and to help assess the effectiveness of UCHRI activities and programs across the UC system.

UC Berkeley
Donna Jones
Associate Professor, English
dvjones@berkeley.edu

UC Davis 
Seeta Chaganti
Associate Professor, English
schaganti@ucdavis.edu

UCI-Karanika UC Irvine
Andromache Karanika

Associate Professor, Classics
karanika@uci.edu
ucla-jawilliams UCLA
Juliet A. Williams

Associate Professor, Gender Studies
jawilliams@gender.ucla.edu
ucm-mostern UC Merced
Ruth Mostern

Associate Professor, History
rmostern@ucmerced.edu
ucr-edwards UC Riverside
Erica Edwards

Associate Professor, English
erica.edwards@ucr.edu
zhang UC San Diego
Daisuke Miyao

Professor of Literature
dmiyao@ucsd.edu

UC San Francisco
Dorothy Porter

Professor of Anthropology, History & Social Medicine
porterd@dahsm.ucsf.edu
Rita Raley UC Santa Barbara
Rita Raley
Associate Professor, English
raley@english.ucsb.edu
UC Santa Cruz
Marc Matera

Assistant Professor, History
mmatera@ucsc.edu