Board of Governors

The UCHRI Board of Governors consists of up to eight UC faculty scholars and up to ten persons of distinction from outside the University of California, divided between academics from other universities and prominent citizens outside academia.  The Board meets yearly in the spring and is responsible for establishing and reviewing all policies and procedures of the Institute; providing continuing oversight and review of the Director and the Institute’s activities; and overseeing the Institute’s extramural development efforts and fund-raising plans. The Board also appoints the members of the UCHRI Advisory Committee and approves the procedures by which conferences are scheduled and fellowships are awarded.

Angela Davis Angela Davis, Board of Governors Chair
Professor Emerita, History of Consciousness
UC Santa Cruz
cathycohen Cathy Cohen
Chair and David and Mary Winton Green Professor of Political Science
University of Chicago
hermangray Herman S. Gray
Chair and Professor of Sociology
UC Santa Cruz
Robin Kelley
Distinguished Professor of History and Gary B. Nash Endowed Chair in U.S. History, and African American Studies
UC Los Angeles
RKline Randall Kline
Founder & Executive/Artistic Director
SF Jazz
Wendy Brown George Lipsitz
Professor of Black Studies
UC Santa Barbara
sareemakdisi Saree Makdisi
Professor of English
Toby Miller Toby Miller
Professor Emeritus, Media and Cultural Studies
UC Riverside
Jann Pasler
Distinguished Professor of Music
UC San Diego
atoquayson Ato Quayson
Professor of English & Director of the Centre for Diaspora and Transnational Studies
University of Toronto
dianataylor Diana Taylor
University Professor, Performance Studies and Spanish
Founding Director, Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics
New York University Tisch School of the Arts
dgoldberg Ex officio:
David Theo Goldberg
Director, UC Humanities Research Institute
Professor of Comparative Literature, Anthropology and Criminology, Law & Society
UC Irvine